top of page
The Wallace Collection Children’s Art Book

The Wallace Collection Children’s Art Book


The Wallace Collection is a national museum in a central London townhouse, where you can find world-class works of art such as The Laughing Cavalier by Frans Hals and The Swing by Fragonard.  It was collected by five generations of one family, four successive Marquesses of Hertford and the 4th Marquess’s son, Sir Richard Wallace.


The Wallace Collection’s Children’s Art Book will introduce children aged 7–9 to key works in the Collection through nine accessible themes, such as ‘Kings and Queens’, ‘Heroes and Monsters’ and ‘Showing Off’.  Beautiful images, analysis and questions written for their age-group will encourage children to explore paintings, furniture, ceramics and arms and armour by some of the world’s greatest makers.


Children will also meet Sir Richard Wallace, who will welcome them to the Collection and bring the objects that he once owned to life by way of lively illustrations by Albany Wiseman.

  • Emmajane Avery with illustrations by Albany Wisema

    February 2009

    300 x 240 mm, paperback

    48 pages, 100 colour illustrations
    ISBN: 978 0 900785 90 0

bottom of page